- Licensed dogs have a higher chance of being reunited with their owners if they get lost. Field Services will try to return the dogs directly to their home if the dog is wearing an up-to-date tag.
- Important health information about your dog can be placed in our licensing records so that if they get lost and end up in our care, we have a medical history for them.Buying your dog a license helps save the lives of animals by providing funding for pets in need that come to San Diego Humane Society.
- It is the law. San Diego County (62.610) and the cities of Oceanside (4.17) and Vista (6.07.010) require all dogs to be vaccinated against rabies and to obtain a license within thirty (30) days (a) of all dogs reaching 4 months of age, (b) of acquiring a dog, or (c) after moving to Escondido, San Marcos, Poway, Oceanside or Vista. Failure to do so within this time will result in a late fee and/or a citation.If your dog ends up at our campus, your fees will be less. If an unlicensed and unaltered dog (running at large) is brought to the North Campus, the fines to retrieve the dog start at $150 per day. The fines are set by California Food & Agriculture Code (30804.7) and local ordinances.
- You can enjoy our dog park. All dogs need to be licensed and altered for entry to the San Diego Humane Society Dog Park.
- A license tells others that your dog is vaccinated against rabies.
- As an incentive to have your dog spayed or neutered.
- California Food & Agriculture Code (30804.5) states that license fees are to be one-half or less than the regular fee if they are altered.
There are also monthly Mobile Vaccine Clinics at various locations throughout the cities of Oceanside and Vista. These clinics will be held on the fourth Saturday of each month from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m.
The following veterinarians sell licenses as part of San Diego Humane Society’s off-site licensing program. If your veterinarian is not listed and is interested in selling licenses, ask them to contact us for more details:
• Rancho Del Oro Veterinary Hospital
• Surfside Animal Hospital
• Tri-City Veterinary Clinic
It is the law; both the County of San Diego (62.620) and the cities of Oceanside (4.17) and Vista (6.07.010) require all dogs over 4 months of age be licensed.
If you notice a problem with your renewal form, please contact us at 760.730.8850 or email firstname.lastname@example.org, so we can make sure that you will not receive another notice.
- San Diego Humane Society cannot waive the Administrative Citation. Please follow the directions on the form.
- The dog owner must purchase a dog license at the San Diego Humane Society Escondido or Oceanside Campus. You cannot mail this in. Proof of current rabies vaccine is required and can be obtained from any state-licensed veterinarian.
- Late fees need to be paid when purchasing a license.
- If you no longer own the dog, no longer live in the jurisdiction, etc. please contact the San Diego Humane Society Escondido or Oceanside Campus immediately so we can make the proper changes.
- Follow the directions on the back of the Administrative Citation to ensure compliance and avoid any additional penalties.
- It is your responsibility to pay the Administrative Citation within thirty (30) days of issuance, including weekends and holidays.
- Appeal forms are available at your local code enforcement agency or San Diego Humane Society Oceanside Campus.